

Daily Subject wise Quiz Day 111 Environment XII (Online Prelims Test)

- 1) Consider the following statements with respect to Wildlife Protection Act 1972
 - 1. There are six schedules provided in the Wildlife Protection Act based on the degree of protection.
 - 2. Critically endangered and endangered species fall under Schedule IV of Wildlife Protection Act 1972.

Which of the above statements is/are correct?

- a. 1 only
- b. 2 only
- c. Both 1 and 2
- d. Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: a

Wildlife Protection Act 1972

- All of the animals given are protected scheduled animals under the Wildlife Act 1972.
- The gharial is 'Critically Endangered' and Water buffalo is 'Endangered'. Hence, they fall under Schedule I.
- Indian wild ass is endangered and it is listed under Schedule I.
- There are six schedules provided in the Wildlife Protection Act based on the degree of protection.
- Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 provide absolute protection and offences under these are prescribed the highest penalties.
- Schedule 1 covers endangered species.
- Schedule 3 and 4: This includes protected species but the penalty for any violation is less compared to the first two schedules. This list is for species that are not endangered.
- Schedule 5: This schedule contains animals that can be hunted.
- Schedule 6 contains the plants, which are prohibited from cultivation and planting.
- 2) Which of the following statements is/are incorrect about Eco-sensitive zones
 - 1. It is an areas within 10 km around protected areas to act as a buffer.
 - 2. Agriculture, Horticulture practices by local communities, and tourism are banned in these zones.

Select the correct answers using the codes given below

- a. 1 only
- b. 2 only
- c. Both 1 and 2
- d. Neither 1 nor 2

Answer: b

Eco-sensitive zones

- Eco-sensitive zones are ecologically Fragile Areas are areas within 10 km around protected areas to act as a buffer.
- They are notified under section 3 of the Environment Protection Act 1986 by the Ministry of Environment and Forest.
- Certain activities are either banned or regulated to protect the environment.
- Agriculture, Horticulture practices by local communities, organic farming, rainwater harvesting, scientific research, tourism, etc. are permitted in the Eco-sensitive zones.
- Important features of these zones are
- 1. They act as a shock absorber for the protected areas and are a transition zone from high protection areas to lesser protection areas.
- 2. They help in In-situ conservation.
- 3. They minimize forest depletion and man-animal conflict.
- 4. They minimize the impact of urbanization and developmental activities in protected areas.
- 3) Consider the following statements with respect to National Biodiversity Authority (NBA)
 - 1. It is an autonomous and regulatory organization it is intended to implement the Biological Diversity Act, 2002.
 - 2. It works to protect the knowledge of local communities related to biodiversity.

Which of the above statements is/are correct?

- a. 1 only
- b. 2 only
- c. Both 1 and 2
- d. Neither 1 nor 2



Answer: c

National Biodiversity Authority (NBA)

- The National Biodiversity Authority (NBA) is a body corporate established in accordance with the provisions of Section 8 of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, at Chennai in 2003.
- It is an autonomous, statutory, and regulatory organization that is intended to implement the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002.
- It works to protect the knowledge of local communities related to biodiversity.
- It facilitates the conservation and development of biodiversity heritage sites.
- The Biological Diversity Act, 2002 came into force in 2003, the Act extends to the whole of India.
- 4) Which of the following statements is/are correct about Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960
 - 1. It provides for punishment for causing unnecessary cruelty and suffering to animals.
 - 2. It enshrines the provisions relating to the exhibition of the performing animals, and offenses committed against the performing animals.

Select the correct answers using the codes given below

- a. 1 only
- b. 2 only
- c. Both 1 and 2
- d. Neither 1 nor 2

Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960

- The legislative intent of the Act is to "prevent the infliction of unnecessary pain or suffering on animals".
- The Animal Welfare Board of India (AWBI) was established in 1962 under Section 4 of the Act.
- This Act provides for punishment for causing unnecessary cruelty and suffering to animals.
- The Act defines animals and different forms of animals.
- Discusses different forms of cruelty, exceptions, and killing of a suffering animal in case any cruelty has been committed against it, so as to relieve it from further suffering.
- Provides the guidelines relating to experimentation on animals for scientific purposes.
- It enshrines the provisions relating to the exhibition of the performing animals, and offenses committed against the performing animals.
- This Act provides for the limitation period of 3 months beyond which no prosecution shall lie for any offenses under this Act.
- 5) Which of the following statements is/are correct about Coastal Regulation Zones (CRZ)
 - 1. CRZ-1 are ecologically sensitive areas that are essential in maintaining the ecosystem of the coasts.
 - 2. CRZ-2 includes the coastal stretches in Lakshadweep, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands which are not mentioned under CRZ 1

Select the correct answers using the codes given below

- a. 1 only
- b. 2 only
- c. Both 1 and 2
- d. Neither 1 nor 2



Answer: a

Coastal Regulation Zones (CRZ)

- A notification was issued in February 1991, under the Environment Protection Act, 1986 for the regulation of coastal area activities by the Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF).
- As per the notification, coastal areas have been classified into four categories as CRZ-1, CRZ-2, CRZ-3, and CRZ-4.
- CRZ-1: These are ecologically sensitive areas that are essential in maintaining the ecosystem of the coasts.
- These include national parks/marine parks, sanctuaries, reserve forests, wildlife habitats, mangroves, and corals/coral reefs. These areas are situated between the high and low tide lines.
- CRZ-2: The areas that have already developed up until the shoreline of the coast are included in this zone. Construction of unauthorized structures is prohibited in this zone
- CRZ-3: Rural and urban localities that are relatively undisturbed and do not belong to the first two categories are included under CRZ-3. Only specific activities related to agriculture or some public facilities are allowed in this zone. It includes areas within municipal limits or in legally designated urban areas that are not substantially built-up.
- CRZ-4: These areas include the coastal stretches in Lakshadweep, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and some other small islands, except those termed as CRZ-I, CRZ-II, or CRZ-III.
- These areas reside in the aquatic region up to the territorial limits.
- Activities such as fishing and other allied services are permitted in this zone. Releasing solid waste is prohibited on such land.